Owl's Head Light
Owl's Head, Maine
This little 30 foot stub of a light tower sits
high on a cliff guarding the entrance
to Rockland Harbor. The name Owl's Head comes from the two large indentations
in the headlands that suggest an owl's eyes. A light was first built here in 1826
to service the increased shipping generated by Rockland's lime industry. The present
brick tower was constructed in 1852 and fitted with a
fourth-order fresnel lens. The tower remains essentially the same as when it was
long series of wooden steps
leading up to
the light from the keeper's house,
which is now a Coast Guard residence.
Owl's Head Light is now a state park--beautifully picturesque and ideal for a picnic.
Owl's Head is the subject of much "lore," including the story of the "frozen
lovers" ... two poor souls whose ship wrecked on the point during the
blizzard of 1850.
A fine art print of this lighthouse is available for purchase.