The image to the right is the Buffalo Main Light. This architecturally stunning tower sits at the entrance to the
Erie Canal, and was built in 1833 when the original light was deemed inadequate for the
increased ship traffic entering and exiting the Buffalo River. The 66 foot tower was only active
until 1914, when another breakwater light took over. That breakwater light was rammed several times
by ships, and nearly destroyed by a major blow in 1958. The Buffalo Main Light was restored in the
1980's and outfitted with a replacement lens.
Sitting next to the Main Light is a restored 1903 breakwater light, called a
bottle light for obvious reasons. Also visible from the marina
are the ruins of the Horseshoe Reef Light and the Buffalo Intake Crib Light.